For Release: July 1, 2013

AGC Awards over $28,000 in Scholarships to Students from Across the State

PIERRE – The Associated General Contractors of South Dakota Highway-Heavy-Utilities Chapter represents hundreds of firms which employ several thousand workers in the construction industry across South Dakota.  The AGC takes pride in our efforts to enhance workforce development and provide scholarships to help aid our members in finding the next generation of workers.

The AGC is proud to announce the winners of the 2013-2014 annual scholarship programs. Winners chosen must be enrolled in a 2-year post-secondary school or college/university, majoring in a career field directly related to the construction industry.  In addition, applicants must achieve an above average academic achievement and be committed to working in South Dakota following graduation. 

The 2013-2014 recipients are:

• Brook Anderson, Groton (LATI) $1,000
• Connor Berg, Pierre (SDSU) $500
• Michael Buchman, Sioux Falls (SDSU) $500
• Dillon Dede, Brandon Valley (STI) $250
• Nicolas Gillen, White Lake (SDSU) $750
• Jocilyn Hansen, Dell Rapids (U of Kansas) $1200
• Spencer Hauge, Watertown (SDSU) $750
• Tyler Hollinsworth, Aberdeen Central (MTI) $250
• Courtney Hook, Pierre (SDSU) $750
• Austin Howard, Rapid City (SDSM&T) $1000
• Michala Jones, Pierre (SDSU) $1,500
• Colin Karst, Dell Rapids (SDSU) $1,200
• Justin Kepler, Pierre (SDSM&T) $750
• Eric Kinghorn, Sioux Falls (STI) $1,000
• Jason Koistinen, Hamlin (SDSU) $250
• Brennan Kranz, Watertown (SDSU) $750
• Sawyer Mathiesen, Sturgis (SDSM&T) $750
• Mitchell Mazourek, Lennox (SDSU) $1,200
• Cody McLaughlin, Custer (SDSM&T) $750
• Jackson Powers, Avon (SDSU) $500
• Nicolas Rock, Brandon Valley (SDSU) $1,200
• Jacob Roemen, Dell Rapids (SDSU) $500
• Bailey Schafer, Rapid City (U of Mary) $750
• Emily Sumner, Omaha (SDSU) $1000
• Tydan Storrusten, Pelican Rapids (NSU) $5000
• Cole VanLiere, Brookings (STI) $250
• David Wagner, Sioux Falls (STI) $500
• Wyatt Walker, Jones County (SDSU) $250
• Terry Weber, Bridgewater-Emery (SDSU) $250
• Kaiden White Bear, Sturgis (Montana State) $500
• Joseph Zikmund, Aberdeen (NDSU) $1000

Of the students listed above, Brook Anderson  was chosen as the Floyd Knight Memorial scholarship recipient, Eric Kinghorn, Nicholas Rock, Jocilyn Hansen & Mitchell Mazourek were chosen as the Sioux Falls Contractors Association scholarship recipients, Tyden Storrusten was chosen as the Neil V. Reede memorial scholarship recipient, Michala Jones & Emily Sumner were chosen as the BX Civil & Construction “Excellence” Women in Construction scholarship winners, and Dillon Dede, Colin Karst and Joseph Zikmund were chosen as the AGC Associate Division Scholarship Recipients. In addition to the scholarships above, the AGC also awarded Lake Area Tech and Northwest Community College, Sheldon IA with $1000 each to award to qualifying students already enrolled in a construction related program.

The AGC of South Dakota, Highway-Heavy-Utilities Chapter, is a voluntary trade association of almost 250 contractors, suppliers and service firms who build the roads, bridges and water/wastewater infrastructure in South Dakota.