For Release: January 23, 2013


Pierre, SD  (January 17, 2013) - The Associated General Contractors of South Dakota, Heavy-Highway-Utilities Chapter (AGC) and the South Dakota Chapter of the Land Improvement Contractors Association (LICA) are proud to announce their 2012 award winners who were honored at the annual South Dakota State Convention, January 9, 2013 at the Lodge at Deadwood, Deadwood, SD.
AGC Build South Dakota Award
The Build South Dakota Award recognizes particular South Dakota highway-heavy-utilities construction projects completed in the past year. Projects demonstrate excellent management and client service, innovation in construction techniques or materials, community relations and/or sensitivity to the environment. The 2012 winners are:
Category I - (Project under $500,000)
A-G-E Corporation – Ft. Pierre, SD. Chosen for the work on the Medicine Knoll Dam project in Sully County, SD.
Category II - (Project between $500,000 – $2-Million)
Mainline Contracting, Inc. – Rapid City, SD. Chosen for their work on the reconstruction and modification of Catron Blvd. in Pennington County, SD.
Category III - (Project greater than $2 Million)
BX Civil & Construction, Inc. – Dell Rapids, SD. Chosen for their reconstruction work and modification of Interstate 229 in Minnehaha County, SD.
Category III - (Project greater than $2 Million)
Foothills Contracting, Inc. - Webster, SD. Chosen for their work on the erosion and slide repair project adjacent to SD44 in Gregory County, SD.
AGC Golden Hard Hat Award
This award recognizes an individual or company that has demonstrated outstanding skill, responsibility and integrity. Criteria include long-term performance, image, community involvement and promotion of the AGC. The 2011 Winner (honored at the 2013 Convention) is:
Gerald (Jerry) Sweetman of Concrete Materials – Sioux Falls, SD.
AGC Good Citizen Award
The Good Citizen Award is awarded in recognition of those people in our industry who, by their action and by their service, accomplish meritorious deeds. These will be singular achievements, which bring credit to the individual or their firm and thereby improve the image of the construction industry. The 2012 Winner is:
Les Cummings, Fringe Benefits Design, Sioux Falls, SD.
50 Year AGC Continuous Membership Award
The AGC Continuous Membership Award recognizes companies who have been a member of the AGC for 50 + Years. The 2012 winner is:
A-G-E- Corporation, Ft. Pierre, SD
AGC Safety Awards
Safety Awards are given to individuals or companies who excel in everyday safety excellence. These awards reflect contributions to the AGC as well as commitment to safety and occupational health management and risk control. The 2012 award winners are:
Paul Lepthien Safety Award – Randy Chappell, Hills Materials, Co., Rapid City, SD
Safety Academy Achievement Award
200 Level – Northwest Concrete Cutting, Sioux Falls, SD
300 Level – Mills Construction, Sioux Falls, SD
400 Level – Muth Electric, Mitchell, SD
Safety Academy Better Practices Award - Terex Bid Well, Canton, SD
LICA Leadership & Integrity Contractor Award
The Land Improvement Contractors Association Award recognizes individuals for a lifetime of distinguished service to the South Dakota Land Improvement Contractors Association and to the South Dakota Construction Industry. The 2012 winner is:
Keith Jerke, Jerke & Sons Construction, Sioux Falls, SD
50 Year LICA Continuous Membership Awards:
The LICA Continuous Membership Award recognizes companies who have been a member of LICA for 50 + Years. The 2012 winner is:
R.C. England & Sons Construction, Co., Presho, SD
Photos from the awards brunch are available upon request.
The AGC of South Dakota, Highway-Heavy-Utilities Chapter, is a voluntary trade association of almost 250 contractors, suppliers and service firms who build the roads, bridges and water/wastewater infrastructure in South Dakota.